Music Producer, Composer, Songwriter

Boyfriend Academy Remixes: Janis Joplin – Move Over

Released three months after her death, “Move Over” was the first song on Janis Joplin’s last album. I got goosebumps working on this remix, hearing and appreciating all the intricacies of her vocal delivery and imagining her in the studio. I tried my best to do it justice. I hope she would enjoy my mean, bluesy and growling electro version of her song. The biggest challenge I faced on this remix was figuring out how to deal with the rubato from the original studio recording. I don’t think they used a click track and they were probably going for a live feel that would best capture her raw energy. I settled on a tempo that was almost in the middle and then sliced each of her phrases into small pieces that I could align with subtle adjustments. It was a lot of work but well worth it. Speaking of raw energy, I thought it would be appropriate to highlight her primal scream and the band going crazy for the climactic ending.

This version of the song in the video below was released on the Pearl album in 1971. It isn’t the same take as the version I remixed; it’s a bit faster and not as hard-hitting. The unreleased “Take 6” version that I remixed will be coming out soon on the new Pearl album from Legacy Recordings along with other previously unreleased material from the Pearl sessions.

Leave a Reply

